Radiation Safety Committee

The Radiation Safety Committee (RSC) is authorized to act as an agent for Georgetown University involving matters of policy, procedures, licensing, control and mediation arising from the use, or proposed use, of radioactive materials and radiation producing devices. It is the responsibility of the RSC to: review and approve, for safety and regulatory compliance, all uses of radiation; the training and experience of proposed Authorized Users and the Radiation Safety Officer  (RSO), to determine whether they are qualified to perform their duties safely and in accordance with the licenses and regulations; and, review the RSO’s annual report of the radiation safety program to determine that all activities are being conducted safely and in accordance with all regulatory and license requirements.

RSC Meeting Schedule 2023 & 2024

MonthMeeting Date
DecemberTBD, Thursday, 12/21/2023
JanuaryTBD, Thursday, 1/18/2024

Membership Roster 2023

Timothy Jorgensen, Ph.D., MPH
Professor, Radiation Medicine – Chair
Room EG-16A, The Research Building
(202) 687-1810
Manar Sakalla, MHP
Radiation Safety Officer
Room LM 12, Preclinical Science Building
(202) 687-4859
Mary Schmiedel, J.D.
Management Representative
Room 243, Basic Science Building
(202) 687-3911
Hakima Amri, Ph.D.
Professor, Boichemistry, Molecular & Cellular Biology
Room 217, Basic Science Building
(202) 687-8594
Evagelia Laiakis, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Oncology
Room EP-11, The Research Building
(202) 687-3114
Danelle Chavez, MPH
Interim EH&S Leader
Room LM 12, Preclinical Science Building
(202) 687-4712
Italo Mocchetti, Ph.D.
Professor, Neuroscience
Room EP-09, The Research Building
(202) 687-1197
Paul Roepe, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Molecular & Cellular Biology
Room 353, Basic Science Building
(202) 687-7300
Rodney Freeman
Radiation Safety Committee – Administrative Officer/Contact
(202) 687-4712