Institutional Biosafety Committee

The purpose of the Georgetown University Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) is to provide regulatory guidance to research personnel to ensure the safe conduct of biomedical research projects, while maintaining compliance with local, state, and federal requirements. Protocol approvals are required for research involving the use of infectious microorganisms, recombinant DNA, and biological toxins. The IBC carries out these functions pursuant to requirements set forth by the National Institutes of Health, and NIH Guidelines For Research Involving Recombinant DNA Molecules. EH&S performs risk assessments in order to develop biosafety policies and procedures and to set containment levels that ensure the safety of Georgetown University employees and the surrounding community. The IBC serves to provide protocol review and approval, as well as, for amended protocols. A formal letter is issued to the Principal Investigator, and other regulatory stakeholders, to document that the research project has been approved by the committee.

IBC Meetings

IBC meetings will be held on the third Friday of every month. Meetings will be canceled if there are no new protocols, renewals or amendments submitted by the due date of each month.

Note: Meeting dates are subject to committee member availability. Please see IBC meeting schedule for official and tentative dates.

IBC Meeting Schedule 2024

MonthProtocols DueMeeting Date

Protocols that are not submitted on the due date, will be reviewed at the next scheduled meeting. The IBC will not review any submission that is not complete and has not addressed edits or clarifications requested by EH&S. These protocols will also be postponed for review to the next month.

Membership Roster 2023-2024

John Casey, Ph.D (Chair)
Associate Professor, Microbiology & Immunology
NE 323, Med-Dent
(202) 687-1052
Lana Senina
Senior Laboratory and Biological Safety Manager EH&S
LM 12 Preclinical Science
(202) 687-5078
Seema Agarwal, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Pathology, GCD 7A, Preclinical Science
(202) 687-2644
Crystal Johnson, DVM
Professor, School of Medicine
G 05 RRF Preclinical Science
(202) 687-0242
Kathleen Pirollo, Ph.D.
Professor, Experimental Therapeutics
E 416, Research BLDG
(202) 687-8418
Susan Commins Gallagher (Community Member)
4018 Mansion Drive, Washington, DC 20007
(202) 365-2398 (H)
Rodney Freeman, (Administrative Officer / IBC Contact Person)
LM 12, Preclinical Science
(202) 687-2566
Zelda R. McDonald (Community Member)
19636 Olney Mill Rd.
Brookeville, MD 20833
(301) 570-4865 (H)
Danelle Chavez, MPH
Executive Director, EH&S,
LM 12 Preclinical Science
(202) 687-4712